When using cash accounting users should be prevented from deleting transactions already on last vat return
I recently found an incorrect posting from the previous bookkeeper so I reallocated the payment against the correct invoice and deleted the incorrect invoice.
This payment had been included in the previous vat return.
My action of reallocating the payment resulted in it being included again on the next VAT return. The incorrect invoice, if not deleted would have also been on the vat return as a negative value therefore double accounting for vat would not have happened.
Therefore the user should be prevented or a least warned of the consequence of deleting the transaction once it has been reconciled for VAT otherwise the VAT is incorrect!!!